Search My Blog

Thursday, 2 February 2017

Those Who May Receive Zakat

Allah, the Exalted, says, (translated),

                     "Alms are only for the poor, the destitute, those who collect  them,
                       those whose hearts are to be reconciled, for [mukatib] slaves, debtors,
                       and  in  the Path of Allah, and the wayfarer.  An [ordained] obligation
                      from Allah.And Allah is Knowing, Wise." [Qur’an, 9:60]

These, then, are eight categories, out of which
  • ‘Those whose hearts are to be reconciled’ have dropped, because Allah has granted  honor to Islam and has freed [it] of need of them.
  • The Poor : is one who has the least of things.
  • The Destitute : is one who has nothing.
  • The [Zakat-]Worker : is paid by the imam in proportion to his work, if he worked.
  • Slaves : the mukatibun are assisted in freeing themselves.
  • The Debtor : is one on whom a debt is incumbent.
  • In the Path of Allah : are the stranded fighters.
  • The Wayfarer : is one who has money in his homeland, but is in a place in which he has nothing.

These, then are the sections of zakat.The possessor may pay [some] to each of them, or he may
restrict himself to one category.

No comments:

Post a Comment